Results of the 2017 French Open

Each year the bring orange, clay tennis courts of the French Open are used from late May to early June. This year, stars were born, strong players dominated, and a legend sat out entirely.

thefrenchopen-terry newmyer

Roger Federer

The legacy of Roger Federer’s career is truly one of the most impressive in tennis history, which is why it came as a shock when he announced he would be skipping the French Open in order to prepare for Wimbledon. Unlike the French Open, Wimbledon uses a grass-court, which requires a completely different set of tennis skills in order to thrive on. In the end, Federer’s decision to stay off of the clay courts was upsetting for his fans, but strategically a good call.


Rafael Nadal

Men’s Single Winner

In the past, Nadal has already proven that he can dominate on the clay surfaced courts. According to Nadal, he had always dreamed of winning just once at the French Open, but this year marked his 10th win. Back in 2005, Nadal dominated at the French Open, and it’s a true testament to his skill in the sport that he has managed to win ten of the 12 French Open competitions he has played.


Jolena Ostapenko

Women’s Single Winner

In the Women’s Final, Ostapenko delivered an outstanding game against third-seeded Simona Halep. After losing the first set to Halep, Ostapenko came back strong in the second and third sets, ultimately giving her the win. This is 20-year-old Ostapenko’s first ever championship win, having entered the French Open as an unseeded player.


Ryan Harrison and Michael Venus

Men’s Doubles Winners

Ryan Harrison of the United States and Michael Venus of New Zealand beat Santiago Gonzalez and Donald Young at the Roland Garros. Michael Venus became the first winner of the French Open from New Zealand since 1974.


Bethanie Mattek-Sands and Lucie Safarova

Women’s Doubles Winners

Bethanie Mattrek-Sands and Lucie Safarova successfully beat out Kristina Miadenovic and Svetlana Kuznetsova for the Women’s Double title at the open. Originally, Miadenovic was to play with Caroline Garcia, but Garcia dropped out of the open at the last minute.

The French Open

The French Open - Terry NewmyerThe French Open, also known as the Roland-Garros is a 2 week-long tennis tournament, held in Paris every year. The first tournament was held in 1891, and the players were all members of French clubs throughout the country. In 1897, women were allowed to play in the tournament, but the French Open didn’t gain international popularity until 1925, when players from around the world were able to compete.

The French Open is one of only 4 Grand Slam tournaments in the world. The other Grand Slam tournaments are the US Open, Wimbledon, and the Australian Open. A Grand Slam tournament are each 2 weeks long and considered the biggest major competitions for professional tennis players.


Surface of the Court

This Grand Slam tournament is regarded as the most difficult among some in the tennis community, partly because the playing surface is clay. Tennis balls react differently on a clay surface as opposed to the standard hard surface or grass courts. The clay allows players to slide to reach their shots and it’s favored by baseline players. Since the clay makes the ball bounce higher while also slowing it down, big servers often don’t do as well with this type of surface.

To compare, the US and Australian Opens both use hard surfaces and Wimbledon has a grass surface.


Grand Slams

When a tennis player is able to win in their division at all 4 Grand Slam tournaments, this is considered a major accomplishment in the world of tennis. There are many different categories of Grand Slams. A calendar Grand Slam means the player won all 4 slam tournaments in the same year. A non-calendar slam, means the player won each of the Super Slam tournament over the course of 2 years.


Golden Grand Slam Winners

Tennis players who win all 4 tournaments and the gold medal in the summer Olympics in the same year are known for completing the Golden Grand Slam. The tennis players who have achieved a Golden Grand Slam are on an incredibly short list because it is so difficult to do. The only tennis player who ever achieved a Golden Grand Slam was Steffi Graf in 1988.